Good Night, and Good Luck.

I was recently on a trans-pacific flight.  My physiological clock told me it was about two A.M.  There were to be 3 movies showing on the flight.  The first had been something new and dramatic by Robert Redford.  It involved a lot of people sitting around, looking stoic in the out-of-doors.  They would cut to a person, the person would talk, there would be a dramatic pause, then cut to person B.  Person B pauses dramatically, then speaks, then pauses, then cut to person A again.

It went on for a while.

Also, I think there was a bear. 

Well, I didn't bother to watch that one all the way through, really.  And when it was over, I said to my self: "Self.  You had better try to sleep at least a little on this flight."  And I thought about trying.  And then I thought "What is this next movie like?  Maybe you could give it 5 minutes of your time and see what you think before rejecting it.  You haven't seen movies in 2 years, but you've slept practically daily.  Maybe you'll like it."

So I put on the headphones and watched as a movie I had never heard of started playing.

It was black and white, which I thought was dumb and gimmicky.  It was directed, the opening credits proclaimed, by George Clooney – which I immediately found suspicious.  At this point I became hostile and started growling.

Then it started.  There were tight camera angles.  There was a great monolouge about the importance of the impartial media.  There was shouting over each other – so much that you couldn't even understand what people were saying.  There was great american history presented in a quick and exciting way. 

90 minutes later, I didn't want to sleep.  I wanted to wake up the Japanese girl in go-go boots next to me and tell her about what an amazing film I had just seen.

Good Night, and Good Luck is a great film.  What makes it great is that it's not only entertaining – it's important.  The subject matter is the 1950's media and political battle between reporter Edward R. Murrow and senator Joseph McCarthy.  Can CBS air a show that is attacking a politician who is endorsed by the shows sponsors?  Is it ethical to say no? 

Cinematography is great.

Music is great.

Acting is the best I've seen.  David Strathairn is *insert a word that means amazing but which isn't over-used by people who review movies in order to emphasize he really is just that amazing*.

The plot is quick and powerful.

Go buy this movie.

Greg

Leave a Reply

