Polk Level Event

John FlandsburghIf I had my way, the 1000 dollar bill would have the picture of James K. Polk on the front and a picture of some meaningful landmark (like the statue of liberty or the Hoover Dam or Bulloch Drugstore) on the back.  People would say "Dude, I got me 3 Polks." instead of 3 g's or 3 k.  It would be better this way.  And respect for a great American would increase.

Not that I know anything about him aside from what I learned from They Might Be Giants.

Nevertheless.

Well, Six Mile is now approaching a Polk Level Event in it's new incarnation.   That is to say We're about to have 1000 hits.  I think that pretty much any website would be proud of this level of traffic within a 3 month period of time.  Therefore, aside from get some HUGE advertising deals, we need to think of some way to celebrate.   Please leave a comment below with thoughts and suggestions on how to celebrate this momentous achievement.

Note: Dressing up like gorillas and burning down the local halfway house is not an acceptable suggestion.   Putting any kind of snake on any kind of plane is also frowned upon.  I'm looking in your direction, Ben.

Greg

2 Responses to “Polk Level Event”

  1. Cornelius Says:

    I know nothing of James K. Polk, other than that some nerds think he’s cool. I do however concur with the idea of a wild and crazy celebration. In the old days, I would suggest 24 hours straight of network carnage. I find myself disinclined to do such a thing now for various reasons. Not the least of which being that my skillz (once the dread of many a counter-terrorist) have been replaced with back and wrist pain. There is, however, one thing that we used to do before the 24 hours of carnage that I think would be a good idea. We (and by “we” I mean you’d better not do this without me) should go to Godfather’s Pizza and get the lunch buffet. There could even be allowances made for gorilla costumes if someone thought it was necessary.

  2. mike Says:

    great blog!

    mike


Leave a Reply

