So Many Lawyers, So Little Time.

I've had a few things on my mind lately. It seems like every time I mention to somebody that I am planning on going to law school, or that I am preparing for the LSAT, the person on the other end of the conversation says, "Oh yeah, I was thinking about doing that." It's this sort of lackadaisical response that seems to claim that a decision like that can be made in an afternoon, as if somebody could say, "Hey, I have some time on my hands, why not go to law school?". 

This sort of outlook could have been acquired from too many viewings of "Legally Blonde." I don't know if my reader will recall that Ms. Elle Woods would have to get "a heck of an LSAT score" to get into Harvard. Harvard's lowest 25 percent scores were around 165, which is above the 90th percentile on the LSAT. That kind of score takes some serious brainpower and preparation. It's not something that you could just swing by the office, take the test, and receive. For the purposes of the movie, I can suspend my disbelief, but considering I've been preparing for the last three years for law school, this wishy-washy mentality, that becoming and being a lawyer is easy, seems other worldly to me.

Yet, it is not entirely unfounded. It turns out that there are a number of law schools that will accept people with grades so low that they could only have been earned in between episodes of swilling cheap beer. These schools would also accept LSAT scores solely on the merit of the applicant actually having taken the test. This means that students with substandard study habits and low commitment can continue their higher education adventures for three more years. But, it also means that people who have only recently found focus can have a second chance. After all, law school is really just another set of hoops to jump through, and the caliber of school one goes to doesn't determine the caliber of attorney one will be.

But it is a shame that the profession is being flooded with people not well suited to it: attorney's who can't find work and find it difficult to perform the most rudimentary legal tasks or even compose a coherent argument. These lawyers most likely failed to realize that a person lacking skills and commitment is not guaranteed to succeed anywhere, regardless of educational attainment. Having a law degree, or any other degree for that matter, does not necessarily mean making the "big bucks" or even getting a job, which seem to be common misconceptions (many attainable and worthwhile positions don't make more than public school teachers). Merely being a lawyer does not guarantee anything, not even respect.

I rest my case.

-Benski

5 Responses to “So Many Lawyers, So Little Time.”

  1. Greg Says:

    so…. I was thinking about going to law school…

    till you smashed my dreams.

    Thanks.

    -greg

  2. Benski Says:

    I know, I know. But the truth must be known.

    Interestingly enough, it first occurred to me to go to law school after having argued about religion with an unemployed lawyer for some weeks.

    -Benski

  3. Cornelius Says:

    If it makes you feel better, I am not, nor will I ever, contemplate going to law school. I think law school is for a special kind of person with a lot of drive and ambition (not to mention dang good study habits), all of which I lack. I have discovered that I was born to be a “Joe Six-pack” and I will be more than happy to let you do the lawyering so I don’t have to do it myself. Everyone needs clients and I would have you do my will any day.

  4. Benski Says:

    Thanks Blaine. It means a lot to have the support of your friends. Nothing will prevent me from obeying, er creating, your will.

    I remember a certain Buddha-Bomber scratching his chin while listening intently to my plan. He could already have gone to law school and graduated. What happened to that guy?

    Hmmm…. I feel a new post coming on…..

  5. Greg Says:

    He’s in law school.

    not graduated, but with a hefty scholarship, I’m given to understand.

    and two kids.

    -greg


Leave a Reply

