Music

I had mentioned in another online journal long ago that when I write I like to turn up my music really really loud.  Recently I was asked "What music?"

If I add up the songs from all my CDs, and all the songs I've got from my friends on my computer, it's over 3,000.  Taking up about 250 hours to play every one. 

Muisic is the number 1 topic on wordpress.  More people write about music than anything else on all 200,000 web-logs hosted here.

 It's important and powerful stuff.

Back in my angry days, I would listen to a lot of 'loud rock' sounding stuff.  Stuff you would hear on the new rock stations.  I never got into metallica, or anything 'harder' than that.   I would listen to collective soul, revis, collapsis, marvelous 3, Soul Coughing, REM, Aerosmith, Foo Fighters, Lenny Kravitz, etc..  Just good loud music. 

When I want to write something I think of as "scathing" i listen to a lot of loud stuff like that.

When I'm in a good mood, I listen to the happier sounding stuff.  Ben Folds, They Might be Giants, Alana Davis, Dave Mathews Band, Barenaked Ladies, and some various 80s music.

When it's night time, I play jazz.  From Sinatra to Mingus, it's all good.

When I'm in a more thoughtful mood, I play soft stuff. 

I don't think I'm the only one who tries to make the music fit the mood. 

Sometimes I'll even try to change my mood with the music.  Listen to the happy stuff when I'm sad.  And it works.  It's just that powerful. 

Just a thought on music.

Greg

Leave a Reply

