Star Trek: The Next Mesmerization

Lately I've been watching my daughter more during the day while my wife is at work. A stay-at-home-dad kind of thing. Pretty nice gig. I usually keep us both entertained by turning on the old tele. But surprising, there isn't much to watch during the day, even on cable. Luckily, I stumbled onto the fact that SpikeTV shows Star Trek: Deep Space Nine and The Next Generation in a five hour block during the day. Spike is awesome; they are the same people that brought us "The 008 days of 007."

Having this influx of 1990's Sci-Fi has really made me remember how much I like Star Trek. It has also made me realize that I have no idea what has happened with the Star Trek name. There have been at least two and possibly three entire Star-Trek series that I have never seen. That "Enterprise" one looked pretty interesting. But I don't think it was getting the ratings. It seems like there has been a trend of less successful Star Trek spin-offs since "The Next Generation." Me and the rest of the American public might not get around to seeing this one until it's played in back to back reruns on cable. Interestingly enough, thats how the original became popular. Nobody ever really watched it until after it was cancelled.

In addition to generating an interest in other Star Trek shows, the reruns have convinced me to see what Star Trek films I can find at the local 99 cent video store. I was kind of bummed that they only had three of them: The Motion Picture, The Search for Spock, and Nemesis. I'll be screening the middle one tonight, by the way. In the absence of a plethora of Trek, I resorted to that "Lost in Space" movie. Holy cow, that was terrible. Avoid it if you can.

If only Spike or Sci-Fi would do a marathon of Trek films. That would really be something. But it doesn't seem very likely unless there is a rebirth of Trekiness in TV's general viewership, a Trek-aissance, if you will.

3 Responses to “Star Trek: The Next Mesmerization”

  1. Greg Says:

    I’d leave a comment here about how much I enjoyed watching “Enterprise” when it first came out, but would thereby run the risk of identifying myself as a nerd.

    Good series.

    -Greg

  2. Cornelius Says:

    I, on the other hand, have no compunction about identifying myself as a nerd. Although I do prefer the term “geek”. I think it has more class. Like I’m a “geek-aisance man”. A “geek-aisance man” has a well-rounded field of experince, where the common “nerd” often lacks basic social and hygiene skills. I have said “skillz”. Anywho, I also love “Enterprise” and was heart-broken when it was cancelled. You go spend the best years of your life making sure others can watch such shows in peace and they cancel them while you’re gone. Jerks.

  3. Benski Says:

    I saw “Enterprise” for the first time yesterday. Fox plays reruns on Sunday at 8:00 PM.

    It’s sort of like a mix between the Trek mythology and NASA. I also didn’t realize that Vulcan women are so attractive. Yeozah! This show seems to address a problem I had with Star Trek: there are just too many fruitin’ aliens. Everytime I turned around there was some kind of “new life form and new civilization.” This show gets back to the basics I think, but then I’ve only seen one episode.

    Even though the show was cancelled, it still had a longer run than the original. Four years isn’t too shabby. Maybe they’ll make a movie later on: the true sign of star trek success.


Leave a Reply

