The Internet is a Vicious Jungle.

Thursday started like any Thursday ought to.  I woke up around noon o’clock and started checking my e-mail.  It was then that I noticed I had an unusually high number of junk mails.  I said to myself, “Self, that’s a lot of crap.  You need to delete that crap.”  But as I opened my junk mail folder, lo and behold there were at least forty emails telling me that I’ve successfully listed an item for sale on eBay.  Now I’ve gotten fake emails from someone pretending to be eBay trying to get my financial information or somesuch, but never in this quantity, so I decided to head on over to said eBay and see what was going on.

Sure enough, when I got there I was selling forty pairs of “authentic” Chanel sunglasses.  I felt kind of like the guy who returns home from a long trip only to find the yard is now alive, carnivorous, and in full possesion of  his home.  So I got out (or “drew forth” if you’re into that sort of thing) my CyberMachete and got to work.  After a couple of hours I’d figured out how to cancel an auction and taken care of the problem.  Fortunately for me, no one is really interested in “authentic” Chanel sunglasses, so I didn’t have to refund any money or dissapoint hopeful winners.

As near as I can tell, whoever did this did it within hours of my discovering it and didn’t do anything more than what amounts to a stupid and obnoxious prank.  I also have to give props to the eBay peoples for getting back to me, restricting access to my account, and refunding the $140-something in fees for these auctions.  They did it that same day.  It went through at least two departments and they got it done in a few hours.  Yowza!  Too bad no one knows who it is that did this or why.

So I guess the moral of the story is: Don’t let your yard get unruly or it will start doing horrible practical jokes on you through the internet.

Leave a Reply

