Lady in the Water

My reviews kick your face in.I really like M. Night Shyamalan’s movies.  And I would like to think that if he ever gave me the time of day we would be friends.  Cause I’m also cool.

Also, Paul Giamatti is a great actor.  I was suprised to see him in this movie, because it seems like he’s more of an unknown actor compared with the powerhouses Shyamalan has had in his other films.  (Paul Giamatti’s next work is Bubba Nosferatu)

This movie was a bit different from previous movies Shyamalan has done.  For one, there is basically one main character rather than a community, couple, etc.  Bryce Dallas Howard seems to spend most of her time in a shower stall, while members of the apartment complex get to share screen time as they all try to figure out who they are.

There’s no real suprize to be had in this one because you spend a lot of time trying to figure out a straight-forward puzzle and know that there is an answer.  And when it gets to the end you were right. 

M. Night says this is more of a “Popcorn movie” meaning he didn’t try to put a lot of meaning into it or symbolism or anything, but just put together a fun piece of entertainment.  I wonder if this won’t alienate some of his hardcore fans who look for him to put meaning in everything.

As a director, M. Night has put himself in a tough position.  No matter what he does, it’s compared with the stunning success of sixth sense and declared inferior.  When he tries to do something different, people say “We wanted another sixth sense.”  When he does something like sixth sense, people say “Man, learn some new tricks.”

I say just go enjoy the show.

I don’t want to spoil the story or twists or anything, so I won’t talk about them right now.  I’ll just say it was a good movie, and while I was drawn in emotionally with the main character, the moment of catharsis just wasn’t as good as it has been in his other movies.  Signs in particular comes to mind. 

Lady in the Water is, like all his films except for The Village, a story about self discovery.  It’s a good message.  I think this is one that I will like even more the second time I see it and I can pay more attention to the characters since I will already know the story.

Go watch it, feel good.  It’s not going to blow you away, but it’s going to make you happy.

-Greg

Leave a Reply

