Kung Fu Hustle

My Kung Fu is BETTER!I watched Kung Fu Hustle the other day. I write about it to say only that the translation of the dialogue was awful.

Well, not awful, but not as funny as the original Chinese. I sat there listening to the Chinese, laughing my head off while Kayeleen read the raunchy subtitles. She didn’t think it was very funny at all. I couldn’t exactly explain why it was so funny – like telling a joke then having to explain it. Not funny.

So this movie is one I recommend to people who enjoy silliness and understand Chinese. Otherwise it will only be slightly fun rather than hilarious.

Greg

Leave a Reply

