The Change

RoadI don’t really have a favorite season.  My favorite time is the time between the seasons.  That period of time when it’s changing from the cold to the hot or from the hot to the cold.  It’s never a long period of time.  Usually not even a month.

I have been having the weirdest nostalgia the past week or so.  It began on a day when it was really cold and I took my car to get inspected.  I had to walk back to the school right past the apartment I lived in before my mission.  It was really weird.  It brought up so many emotions that I can’t even describe it.  It was cold and I missed the old apartments I lived in, and the experiences I had there.  Friends now gone to other places, sights and smells I don’t experience as much any more.

I missed candles, late nights with snow, (I haven’t seen much snow for a few years!) music, movies, and the lifestyle we had back then.  It wasn’t so much that I wanted it back or that I like that old life more than I like my current life, but just that I’m sad that things always have to change.

Tomorrow is the first day of Ramadan – the sighting of the sliver moon.  Just after the equinox.  Also a time of change.

More pedantically, it’s homecoming and I have work in the morning.  But let’s just focus on the reddening leaves and misting breath to come.

-Greg

Leave a Reply

