Nonsense. NONSENSE!

Here’s a sentence out of the textbook which contains the information I need to know to pass my exam:

Super nonsense“The coders achieved high levels of agreement between the two coding schemes, indicating support for the construct validity of the valence dimension of their coding scheme.”

Nur?

I am not sure what the heck this is saying, but I know I need to know what construct validity is.   And it has something to do with this norwegian gobledigook.   I think superman put it best.

I better get back to studying.  Truth!  Justice! Confusing and unskilled professors!

Your friend from the west side,

-Greg

9 Responses to “Nonsense. NONSENSE!”

  1. Cornelius Says:

    The more you write, the more you continue to validate my beliefs regarding Higher Education, The Man, and what’s really important in life. But at the same time, I’m proud of you Greg! Dream the Impossible Dream! Reach the Unreachable Star! I’ll sleep better at night knowing that you laid it on the line to find out what construct validation is and how the Communists are trying to use it against us.

  2. Ben Says:

    I’m going to comment on your latest commentary about higher ed. When I go to class, I expect to learn cool new things from a teacher who knows what they are talking about. When that happens, I say “Well, that’s what I expected, so I don’t need to say anything about it.” I only talk about school when things go wrong.

    What I’m saying is, you can’t make judgements of higher ed based on student complaints. They will most likely only reflect the negative parts.

  3. Greg Says:

    Whelll…. Ben is right. There is a LOT that I’m learning now that in all my years of schooling have never been as awesome as these things. Ummm. did that make sense? Anyway. I mean I really AM getting an education, I just have one class that I’m not sensing a lot of future value in.

    In an interesting side note, I gained my ability to glean REAL value from my classes through my missionary service. It was because my mission president (who is speaking in the sunday morning session of conference) was a master of taking principles and applying them to real life. Whenever a church leader would suggest something he would apply it to our work. Once I got back here to school I found myself doing the same thing from my classes that, at face value, seem to be only theory. The fact is that theory can be useful when applied in life. It’s too bad, therefore, that “educators” don’t really require life changes like mission presidents do. Because that would be a REAL education.

    “Okay, folks, here’s a way that communication improves relationships …. Now your assignment is to make sure you never make that mistake again.”

    There are some teachers who encourage that kind of thing, but not many. It’s an interesting illustration of the difference between secular and religious education.

    NE way…. that’s my input on your inputs on my input.
    -greg

  4. Cornelius Says:

    I’m somewhat dissappointed. Not in the two of you, but in the results of what I say. You’re supposed to laugh at the bit about the Communists, not tell me I’m wrong. I just like giving a hard time to those of you who voluntarily subject yourselves to stuff and then complain about it. I suppose that it is my fault. Ben doesn’t know me well enough to separate the chaff from the wheat.

    My school experience has been different from yours. Believe it or not, I actually had a few classes where I learned a lot. My Psych 1010 class was a life-changing experience. I also loved Nutrition, Quantative Analysis, and Economics. The rest of my “education” was like one of those reality shows where you have to dig through piles of manure to find the prize. A lot of it had no real life application. Or, if it did, they never told me what it was. Is it too much to ask to know the practical application of things in class, or do I have to figure that out on my own? If the professors aren’t going to tell me how to use the knowledge that I gain, then I might as well get it from a textbook. Especially when the “professor” is a graduate student who only knows what he or she knows because he or she read it in a textbook. Knowledge doesn’t make you an effective teacher. There are principles to be found everywhere in life, and so far I’ve learned more from the rest of life than I ever did from school. And I don’t pay the rest of life for that info. They pay me. I agree with getting an education, I just can’t tolerate wading through that much baldercrap for one or two useful things. Now is the part where you say, “School isn’t like that!” That’s great! Tell me what these classes are that you learn so many great things from because I’d like to take them. I just haven’t found any classes that were worth my time other than the ones I mentioned.

    It would also help if school were geared for kinesthetic learners. As Greg mentioned earlier, the lecture format is less effective.

    I guess it’s a cry for attention really. When I say, “I hate school! It’s such crap!”, you’re supposed to say, “Not true! My such-and-such class rules! I learned great things from it such as…” I guess if that’s what I want, then that’s what I should ask for. I just didn’t know that’s what I was doing until four or five sentences ago.

  5. Ben Says:

    Now I must comment on your comments on my comment about Blaine’s comment which was originally about Greg’s post.

    Greg, I feel the same way. During my whole freshman year I was doing things because I thought I had to. I wasn’t really there to learn yet; I went to college because that’s what I needed to do to get a decent job. My grades suffered because the desire to lead Terrans to victory overpowered my meager desire to “get a decent job.” Only after Basic training and my mission did I start to question the things I was learning. In questioning, I found the drive to learn.

    Blaine, I’m not sure that anybody else can tell you that something should be important to you. People have different tastes. For example, I also took Psych 1010 and didn’t really care for it, while it was life changing for you. We could have had different teachers, but then we might have had the same one (some pale female grad student with a nose jewel). People choose what they take away from a class, which choice is probably subconscious. It’s somewhat like when I was reading your original comment: I picked out what I wanted to comment on and ignored the rest.

    I think the best way to like school is to study something you’re interested in. I like to read, write, and argue, so I’m an English Major. I loved all the British Literature series (Amer lit is just OK.) I also really liked my upper division composition classes.

    It seems the “wading through” that you would have to do is General Education. A lot of these are taught by graduate students in order to save the good professors for upper division (But not all upper division classes are good).

    Life’s lessons are, of course, valuable. But school takes the collective life lessons of the human experience and compounds them into four little years. Going to four years of college is the best way to figure out what the heck is going on in the world and in the history of humankind. Universities are where we store our collective learning (a romanto-sentimental idea).

    P.S. I am actually wondering what these classes were that you were taking. Was it this?
    Advanced Algorithms in Macroeconomics: The Untold Story Revisited.

  6. Greg Says:

    If anybody cares, I got a 76 percent on this test.

    ‘tupid con’truct vadididdy.

  7. Cornelius Says:

    I have never heard of Advanced Algo-Thingy in Macro-Thingy. You’re right. My secret sorcret has been reverald! It was a pile of general ed classes that got me so cheesed off. Before you go saying it, I know it’s not fair to judge all of school by the generals. I just viewed generals as sort of gateway classes into their fields. For instance, I took Psych, loved it, then started majoring in it. I quickly found that it was not the field for me. Same for music. I have passing interests in these, but no love. I have not found the love of a subject, just piles of busy work. It also helps if you have good teachers. By the way, I took Psych 1010 from Les Jones, the then department head, I believe. Some day I’ll know what I want from it, but for right now my testimony of the usefullness of a degree is very weak. I’m living off of others’, and that’s not any good. The only things right now that I do have a love for are the Terrans, Magic, and Pizza. For right now, I’m going to take the advice of a very wise institute teacher and just forget about it and serve a mission. Hopefully, when I’ve finished that, Obi-Wan will appear and tell me what to do with myself.

  8. Ben Says:

    Good call. I tell you the truth, I decided what I wanted to major in on my mission. I don’t remember whether I mentioned this in the “So Many Lawyers, So Little Time” piece, but I decided I wanted to be a lawyer because I argued religion with a lawyer a few times a week for months.

    Too bad about the 76, Greg. It helps to be using a decipherable textbook, but nobody can help that.


Leave a Reply

