Foley Scandal

Newsweek says:
Mark Foley’s explicit e-mails could bring down the GOP.
Um…. Right.   Is this a liberal publication?  hmmmm..

I understand that there is a bad bad man who was in a position of power and authority in Washington who tried to seduce young men for his sexual pleasure.   What blows my mind is how people try to draw lines to President Bush and the Republican Party as a whole.  Does this make sense? 

Newsweek:  Yes.  All republicans, including the president, are gay pedophiles who should be kicked out of their positions and we hate them and all liberals are right all the time and you guys smell bad and I’m on base and there’s no tagbacks. Nyah.

I made a comic about this scandal.  I’m calling it “The Quick Brown Fox,” for lack of a lazy dog.  It goes like this:

Comic

And it’s Bush’s fault that North Korea has conducted a nuclear test. 

Probably the spinach thing too.

He probably also flew that plane into that building in new york earlier today.

Admittedly, Bush has only something like a 30% approval rating.  This is because everybody hates him and thinks that the job he IS supposed to do is not being done, and only 30% of americans are nice enough to say “Well, he does stink, but I don’t know that I could do much better in the situation.”

But we can’t deny the man seems to be an idiot.  Like the rest of America, only about 30% of me is still supportive of the man, and it’s mostly just hair and gristle.  I was all for him back before the war in Iraq.  And then less and less so as time goes on.

Having said clearly that I’m not a fan of Bush at this point, I would like to point out that it’s absurd to blame the man for anything that he didn’t do.  Tens of thousands dead in Iraq? Curse him.  Hate him for the war?  Fine.   Feel like he’s not got the right focus? Okay.  But blame him and other members of his party for things he had nothing to do with?  You’re just as stupid as a Texas Governor in the white house.

-Greg 

5 Responses to “Foley Scandal”

  1. Cornelius Says:

    You will never hear me say anything bad about President Bush, for two reasons. The first is that I didn’t vote in either election. Someone who doesn’t vote has no right to complain. The other reason is that I’m not in his position. I can’t say that I would have done things better, or even differently for that matter. I read a story once about a guy by the name of Damocles who switched places with a king for a day.

  2. Greg Says:

    See, Blaine is one of those reasonable 30% group who actually thinks about things rather than going by whatever somebody tells him to think. This is what I expected. And he’s right. I don’t think for one minute I or anybody else could have done better. And thank goodness it wasn’t Al Gore in office for the past 6 years.

  3. Benski Says:

    You know, that 30% rating really couldn’t get much lower. Even if Bush sent Sardaukar death troops to exterminate all the children in Nimibia, he would still have around a 30% rating. This number represents his base, or what I think of as “Party Zealots”: those people who stand by the leader of the party only because they are ardent members of that party.

    The number is pretty significant because it means that virtually all fence-sitters and moderates have turned away from him; most people without a significant emotional and idealogical investment dissaprove. That’s a scary thought.

    The trouble, as I see it, is that Mr. Bush does not understand his accountability to the American people. His policies sometimes require some explanation, but he tends to be reluctant to give any. His administration seems to be run more like a business than part of a democracy. He doesn’t like to answer for the decisions he makes, which makes him a poor salesmen of his policies. In press conferences he tends to quickly get on the defensive, a fact which causes him to make such statements as “I am the decider.”

    I throw in my dissaproval with the rest of the 70%, even though I voted for the man twice. Understand, this doesn’t mean I wish Gore or Kerry were elected. I just wish my guy would pull his head out.

  4. Shazer Says:

    Forgot to tell you the other day…you are welcome to comment
    all you want on my blog…regardless of how qualified you are.
    So…comment away…I’d love to hear your insight.

  5. Cornelius Says:

    I thought we WERE the Sarduakar, sent in to regain control of “Arrakus” (pronounced “Iraqus”), the source of “The Spice” which makes travel possible. There are a lot of disturbing similarities between the story and the actual war, the most disturbing of which is that we appear to be the bad guys if you take the analogy that far. We drove around in the deep desert a time or two and I’m pretty sure I saw a wurm moving under ground.


Leave a Reply

