Commissioned a Second Lieutenant

Here are some pictures from my commissioning today. I was administered the oath of office by our MS III instructor, and a friend from my mission came down for my “Silver Dollar” salute. My reserve unit rescheduled drill so that they could all come. It was really cool, a really good day for me.

 

The uniform I am wearing is the Army “Dress Blues,” styled after the union army uniform of the civil war.

The “commission” itself is a document that gives the officer authority from the President of the United States to execute the duties of his office. I put my commission on my wall, a welcome addition to my various memorabillia. As a point of history, an officer used to have to buy his commission in the British Army.

One Response to “Commissioned a Second Lieutenant”


Leave a Reply

