Happy New Rant!

It used to be that every year I would have something to say about the celebration of the New Year.  Even last night, while the insomnia kept me up long after the fireworks, I felt there was something that needed to be said, spurted, or otherwise extruded from my brain via orafice or digit. 

It may be better if you don’t consider that too much.

But now it’s daytime, the new year has begun.  I’m already 11+ hours into it and doing pretty well for myself.  Haven’t spent money.  Had some quality time with family.  Finished a book.  Didn’t start a diet.

What is it about the arbitrary date we call the end of one year and the beginning of another that makes people want to change?  Why isn’t that desire for change existant at all times when our full potential isn’t being reached.

Obviously the answer is because we’re stupidheads. 

We need to learn, individually and collectively, to set goals.  Not just new years resolutions.  Not just things we “want to do some time.”  We need to learn how to say “I’m going to do this thing on this day at this time and nothing’s going to stop me.”  not just “Someday…”

Anyway, I’m too tired to rant properly.  Here’s a graph of the frequency of searches for “Diet” on google.

Google Trends 

I love the spikes at the beginning of each year.

-Greg

Posted in Rants. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Happy New Rant!”

  1. Talia Lee Says:

    it is sad, indeed the lack of wanting to change throughout the year. last year, 2005-ish, i actually started a new resolution in november. this last go around, i decided to get my rear in gear. and forget diets. the lesson we had in church yesterday says fat is okay, so long as you dont’ overdo it. so ha to anyone out there who says we should reduce our fat intake to nothing.

  2. Cornelius Says:

    Yeah! I’ve found that trying to change the really important things is really hard and the fact that it’s 01 Jan 07 doesn’t change that much. I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions, but if I did mine would be to find a place in town with good steak and eggs and eat there frequently. Or better yet, learn to cook it myself!


Leave a Reply

