Dressing like a Geek

I meant to have a link to the site, but I can’t find it again.

I found a website the other day that describes what geeks do wrong in terms of fashion, and what is the right way to be fashionable.  Although I’ve known of my own geekiness for many years, I wasn’t aware that I was broadcasting it.  This site managed to nail several aspects of my own dress habits – causing me to re-evaluate several long term patterns. 

For instance.  Apparently wearing white socks is a fashion no-no.  Who knew?  Not me.  Is it the not knowing which made me a geek or is it that I’m a geek which made me not know this terribly important fact of life?

Another one that I was guilty of not so long ago:  Don’t tuck in shirts.  Why?  From what I can tell, simply because if Brad Pitt doesn’t do it, you shouldn’t either.  I suppose that when speaking of fashion, there’s something to that statement.

So today I’m trying out a new look.  I even have layered shirts (untucked) and black socks!  I’m not sure how I feel about it all – except that I’m worried because this is my only trick.  I can’t wear a layered shirt and black sock combo tomorrow, can I?  Or can I?  I just don’t know.  What if I start to think polo shirts are attractive?!  When will I be fashionable enough?? 

I think I just had a breakdown of some sort.  Tomorrow maybe I will wear jean shorts with a tucked-in linux t-shirt, no belt, white socks pulled up and sandals. 

Take that, Brad!
-Greg

7 Responses to “Dressing like a Geek”

  1. Talia Lee Says:

    That is absolutely beautiful Greg. :D

  2. Cornelius Says:

    If it’s a crime to get my wardrobe from the clothing section at Wal-Mart so that I have more funds for the electronics section in Wal-Mart, then someone should probably lock me up for a long time. It’s been said that “Beauty (or fashion in this case) is in the eye of the beholder.” Who are these “fashionable” people to tell us what to do? Fortunately for us epic-level geeks, we know how to get the beholder to go eat the fashionable people. Like Cher. Fashion my eye!

  3. Tellarite Says:

    Umm.. yea.. so that wasn’t the link.

  4. Greg Says:

    Yeah, but that IS the website where I got this spiffy new running-guy-with-trendy-flame-shirt icon. Kudos!

  5. Talia Lee Says:

    smilies all around here.

  6. val Says:

    Wow. it automatically entered my name as Val. I don’t know how I feel about that.

    You may look like a duck, but as long as you don’t quack like one, you should be okay.


Leave a Reply

