Something Weird…

Fish in a tank... A TANK!!!I feel it’s time for a little self-disclosure.  Time to reveal a bit more of myself to the world at large through the anonymity of the interweb.  Communication Theory says that when a person discloses more about himself people will feel that their relationships with him have deepened.  And that’s good, right?  Of course, right.

I think the problem is that when I was a kid my favorite late night reading was the Book of Revelation.  Sometimes friends would come over for sleepovers and I would say “Hey!  Let’s look at what the signs of the times are!”  It may mean something that my friends always responded with an enthusiastic “Okay!” 

Anyway, the reason I mention it is that because I would often frequent Biblical texts for fun I would often have my thinking influenced by the speculative nature of certain of those texts.  Get it?  I mean  you add aspiring fiction writer to exciting and dramatic prophecy and you get weird things.

Over the years the aspiring fiction writer aspect of me dwindles to an unhealthy candle sputter.  What I once thought of as exciting and dramatic prophecy now sometimes seems expected or vague.  But what is left over is the recurring images of youth – strange ideas of reality that pervade into my current thought process.

An example  –

There is a portion of the Book of Revelation that discusses making all the things of the first thousand years, known.  Then the second, then so on until today.  Somewhere along the line I decided that must mean that someday we’re all going to know everything that ever happened.  As a youngster I thought “Wow.  What could be more embarrassing than that?”  So I thought of it.

It was kinda like a virtual reality / matrix kind of thing – but before the matrix.  There’s a certain episode of Batman Beyond where kids go into these glowing spheres where they float and experience a new reality based on what program they picked.  So they see themselves as rock-stars, adventurers, and so forth, but really they are just floating in glowing pink spheres while drooling and grunting.  Well – way back in the day, before batman beyond and the matrix and after thinking about some scriptures – I imagined myself one day waking up inside some sort of giant glass sphere where I had been put into another life.  This life.  And I look around and see all the scientists watching and see rows and rows of similar spheres with people in them all acting out what they imagined going on in their own worlds. 

In the story that I wrote, I had it take a matter of days only to live an entire lifetime of experiences in one of these machines.  It was a boring story and didn’t have much of a point.  I decided it would be more interesting if we each woke up after death only to discover we were all actually immortal creatures who wanted to know what it was like to experience mortality and pain and so on… But I didn’t really come up with that idea.

But it did help me visualize something that is hard to imagine. 

Yesterday I was driving down the street and I saw somebody with the radio cranked up and the windows down.  He was singing along happily with the music, and I immediately imagined him floating in a glass sphere somewhere, singing as loud as he could to a room full of scientists – unaware that even as he thought himself alone he was still surrounded and being watched and recorded. 

Sometimes this image just pops into my head.  Sometimes I imagine a replay of each persons life at the final judgement, and I think that we are going to have no more embarrassment left in ourselves once it’s all over.  Sometimes I do a little dance or tell a joke when I’m all alone just so I can see it again when that big replay-in-the-sky occurs.

Is this too much self-disclosure?  Maybe so.  But I don’t think I’m the only one who has thoughts like this.

The undead are like a bunch of friends demanding constant attention,
-Greg

4 Responses to “Something Weird…”

  1. Talia Lee Says:

    Hmmm… that is a very interesting thing. I can’t say I’ve necessarily thought in those terms, but it does seem like something I might have thought of during childhood, wondering if there are people randomly watching us when we think no one is there. it definitely puts me into deep reflection

  2. thought4food Says:

    Makes me wish I hadn’t picked my nose all those times I thought I was alone! *blush*

  3. Steph Says:

    You know, it’s funny. I have always imagined us attched to borg like machinery, with the patterns of the world sent to us over brainwaves…. But same sort of idea with the scientists watching and recording, lol.

  4. Cornelius Says:

    There are many things that I’ve done in my life that I would feel mortified of if the others found out. But then I remember that everyone has done many things that would make then feel mortified if exposed. It will probably be more like seeing seven-year-olds wailing away on the air guitar and saying to each other, “Remember when we did that? Man, we used to be dorks.”


Leave a Reply

