On Being a Sneaky Snake

After 8 years of being an Army Reservist, I’ve picked up one or two things. One important thing I’ve learned is that there are priviledges that everybody asks for that few actually get. One timely example is the question “Can I move my family out with me while I’m in a TDY (Training Duty) status.”

The Official Answer is always “No.” If the official answer was yes, the Army would become obligated to pay the costs of your travel and lodging off post.

However, the Army already pays soldiers to maintain a residence for their significant other. If that residence happens to become… oh… say… the military post where you’re in training, nobody can say anything. Can they really order your non-military spouse to not move where and when she will? Hardly.

 At this point, the question changes to “Can I live off post with my spouse who already lives in town?” This is a very different question and one with virtually no additional obligations for the Army, usually making the answer “yes.”

 So it was that today during in processing and introductions the question was asked, “Does anybody live offpost?” Eyes peered up in amazement and jealousy at the single raised hand which belongs to your humble villager, Benski. It’s true: my lonely three months of training has turned into a nice summer job with my wife in South Carolina. Myrtle Beach is only 1.5 hours away.

After class, somebody asked me “How did you manage that?” I replied, “I asked the right question.”

4 Responses to “On Being a Sneaky Snake”

  1. Greg Says:

    Niiiice. That’s why we called you “the thinker.”

  2. Cornelius Says:

    You have taught me a valuable lesson this day, master. I’ve heard stories about Getting Away With Things, but that is by far the best. What are you training for, if I may ask?

  3. Benski Says:

    I’m in training for Adjutant General BOLC (Basic Officer Leader Course).

  4. Cornelius Says:

    Cool! I’ll have to remember that. I’m seriously considering going the ROTC route myself.


Leave a Reply

