So, How’s Law School?

I had a couple of thoughts to share. Naturally as a 1L law student, I haven’t had much time to write except to defend Bear Grylls. It looks like God and the Discovery Channel have answered my prayers because he is still on the air. Unfortunately, I don’t have cable anymore so I can only watch if I discretely sit in my neighbor’s lawn on friday nights peeking through their front window. I’d have to get a miracle ear to get sound… or I could just ask them if I could come in.

So it turns out Law school is one of the hardest things people can do with their lives. I’m not sure I was totally aware of this reputation. I pushed myself pretty hard in undergrad and recovered from my slacker-freshman year, so it hasn’t been a complete shock to my system. There is an unbelievable volume of work and it doesn’t end. I just take things one day at a time, and I seem to be doing fine. I don’t allow myself to think about things coming up in the future unless that thought represents some kind of preparation. I usually spend the day with my family then go do schoolwork at night (when they’re asleep). I think my technique is working because I haven’t spazzed out yet. Though one night at the beginning I was pretty close. I underestimated how much work a seemingly small assignment would be and I was up until 3 am doing it. I did push-ups to keep myself awake. I’d grumble about the teacher between sets.

I am pretty sure there have been at dozen students who have quit since orientation for whatever reason (they could have gone to another school). There have been two weeping break-downs in class. I expect more as the work load increases (I’ll keep the village posted).

I no longer do much work at home because wives tend to want to talk to you when you’re home. I decided it’s best to spend time with my wife when I’m home and steer clear of the house when things have to get done.

One cool thing about my situtation is that I don’t really worry about money thanks to Uncle Sam. And I don’t worry about getting a job because I had always planned on going into the JAG Corps. (Of course, I would consider BRO LAW if Greg went to law school).

Part of why I wanted to write about this is to show this youtube clip. I watched it and couldn’t stop laughing. Note: if mild profanity offends you, be warned. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8ABhatAfsA

3 Responses to “So, How’s Law School?”

  1. Greg Says:

    BRO LAW sounds good to me – let’s do one of those “one call, I kill every insurance company” kinda deals with you me and Jared. I’ll just do the finances side of things.

  2. Cornelius Says:

    That clip is hi-larious! If you’re looking to hire some muscle, I could have my people talk to your people. Dirty deeds, done dirt cheap. Think about it.

  3. brick79 Says:

    Just thought that I would let you know it gets worse. :) My last boyfriend before I got married was a first year law student. He had a breakdown…along with everyone else in his class. But he ended up graduating. Keep pluggin along. You’ll be in my prayers!!


Leave a Reply

