The start of Christmas

Last year, our Christmas tree was a one foot tall, pre-decorated, battery powered thing that sat on our coffee table.  We got it on loan from one of my friends who said “every body needs a Christmas tree, especially for their first Christmas.”  This year, our tree is still a borrowed tree, but it’s taller and we got to choose our own decorations.  I think it is pretty neat.  We spent about $20.00 at Wal-Mart and got what reminds me of a department store tree on a small scale.  It has red and gold ribbons weaved through the branches and these swirly, glittery gold things that hang down.  Mixed in are some red bulbs (of the shatterproof variety, in case Johnathan gets a hold of one).  I was surprised.  My mom, who loaned us the tree, said that she would have given us some decorations to put on the tree, but somehow, I just wanted a tree that was “our” tree.

I remember when I was a kid.  It wasn’t officially Christmas time until we put up the tree.  We had a bunch of handmade ornaments that were part of the tree every year.  We all helped to put things on the branches and make it “beautiful.”  Filled with kindergarten pictures preserved in ceramics and clothespin angels and silvery tinsel garland, I didn’t think any thing could be better.  In my mind, a tree that wasn’t like that was no kind of Christmas tree at all.  Now, with our little family, our tree is the most beautiful tree I have ever seen.  And I think it’s because it’s OUR tree.

I know the Christmas tree is a really trivial and meaningless part of Christmas in the grand scheme of things.  It has little do with the meaning of the season.  It really is just a sentimental thing for me.  The little kid in my heart says it’s not really Christmas until the tree is up.  So, now, our home is all ready for Christmas, even though I haven’t done any shopping yet and there is nothing to go under the tree.  It’s Christmas in my heart right now.

2 Responses to “The start of Christmas”

  1. Benski Says:

    That sounds nice. I think we were going to go with the 1 foot tall version with fiber optic twinkle-bits woven into the tree. We will be going small scale because we won’t actually be in town for christmas. We are going to passing through Cedar on the way to Las Vegas. Maybe we could stop by and see you guys and hang out for a while. Are you going to be in town? We’ll be going to Vegas on the 17th and driving back on the 21st. Give me a buzz, if you are. Merry Christmas.
    Ben + Fam

  2. White Raven Says:

    Well I myself am not too into christmas, I met my beloved during the christmas season it was that time when I was 11 years old that she first stood up and I saw the most beautiful creature that man has ever had the privilege to lay his eyes on. The first time in my life my heart was open to someone else. But I let her grow up without me, and I stayed from her always because I feared rejection.

    I have to say though that the tree in fact does have something to do with christ. Most people think that the christmas tree roots from a pagan tradition, but the druids are the only tree worshipers I know of and during yule they do not worship the tree they worship the sun. Plus do you not think a druid would be a trite angry that the tree was cut from the earth?

    I do not have the scriptures at hand at the moment to quote that you having a tree is alright to have as a symbol of God. Hence the tree of life, the generation of the fig tree, and the tree of knowledge of good and evil. There is another scripture somewhere that tells of christ being like a tree but I have to look it up.

    The star however is the work of the master of darkness himself the one you people call satan. That star was meant to point out the location of the christ child so that he could be killed. A lot of people do not know that, that is why the Magi were sent on a different way. There is the fact also that he was not born in december but conceived, I have a theory that he was born some time in september in virgo. God seems to have a thing for mathematical meanings and not telling you what things mean. An example would be that he appointed me as the fourth pillar in which I have no idea what that means.

    But merry christmas to you anyway, I am going to spend my christmas alone praying like I always do. Remember what Christ represents though, forgiveness for what makes us ever so human.


Leave a Reply

