A Little Observation

Blue tooth and other hands free devices for cell phones are very useful. Nobody denies that. In fact, they may have already saved lives when people use them on the road. I can’t say how many times I’ve grumbled when a 3000 lb. phone booth blew past me on the freeway at 90 mph.

But I don’t understand why people are using these things outside of their cars. First, doing so makes you look crazy. Even though it is getting more common, I still have to look twice when I see people sitting alone, talking to themselves. Second, doing so makes you look stupid when others realize what you’re doing. I didn’t realize it was so much work to hold a phone up to your ear when your hands aren’t doing anything else.

Can somebody say why I am seeing this more and more? Are these things that comfortable and convenient?

I see the future of communication going toward some kind of phone implant for the ear. But I would prefer to see something along the lines of a “go-go-gadget” hand phone in recognition of the these “crazy” and “stupid” factors.

 

Leave a Reply

